New Conference Layout

To All Clubs

Following the result of the Ballot vote on Friday 9th October on starting the Leagues the IMG gave all clubs the opportunity to withdraw from playing without penalty. The deadline for that was last night.

Following the 8PM deadline, a further four clubs intimated their withdrawal from playing in the leagues.

There were no further withdrawals from the Premier Division, so it will run with 15 teams. The teams that have withdrawn are – Auchinleck Talbot, Cumnock, Glenafton Athletic, Kilbirnie Ladeside and Pollok.

The clubs that have withdrawn from the Conferences are: Ardrossan Winton Rovers, Arthurlie, Cambuslang Rangers, Girvan, Petershill, Saltcoats Victoria, Shotts Bon Accord and Whitletts Victoria.

At this point, we’d like to state, that we understand that this was not an easy decision for any club to make, and that all due respect should be shown to the clubs that made it.

We can only wish them the best of good fortune for the future and look forward to their return in Season 2021/22.

Respect is also due to those clubs that have made the difficult choice to start in the Leagues and we also wish them the best of good fortune for the forthcoming season.

The IMG of the WoSFL held an extensive Zoom Meeting last night to discuss the new set-up of the Tier 7 Conference Leagues.

We discussed various options, we considered what some clubs had said and also what others hadn’t said. We set up pro’s and con’s for all options and considered them all.

After a long debate, we settled on the option that we think is best.

We decided to use the same formula that was used when the Conferences were originally set up.

We ranked the teams according to their final placings in last season’s WRSJFA leagues. Then placed them into 3 Conferences using the ‘Serpentine Method’ as we had before. The 3 non-junior teams were placed into the same Conferences as before.

We believe this option best suits the needs of the clubs in that it retains as much as possible the original configuration and maintains a competitive edge and has a balance in strength across all 3 leagues.

The Conferences are:

47-8=39Conference AConference BConference C
SBA1 Renfrew2 Neilston3 Kilsyth
Arthurlie6 St Roch’s5 Gartcairn4 Dalry
Whitletts7 Craigmark8 Irvine Vics9 Shettleston
Petershill12 Lesmahagow11 Port Glasgow10 Lanark
Cambuslang13 Bellshill14 Greenock15 G Perthshire
AWR18 Maryhill17 Carluke16 Larkhall
Girvan19 Kello20 Wishaw21 EKT
Saltcoats24 Muirkirk23 Johnstone22 R Albert
25 Ashfield26 Vale of Leven27 Yoker
30 Maybole29 Forth28 Thorniewood
31 Annbank32 Vale of Clyde33 St Ants
36 Ardeer35 Lugar34 Newmains
Glasgow UniSt Cadoc’sDrumchapel

I will now turn my attention to setting out a fixture list for all 4 leagues.

This will be delivered as soon as possible.


Kennie Young
Secretary IMG of WoSFL