Division Structures for 2020/21

Since the WoSFL Interim Management Group was set-up, we have been assessing the situation regarding the forthcoming season.

On the basis that there is still a high probability of disruption to the season, we believe it is important to put in place an alternative to a normal season of Home and Away fixtures.

As such, we have restructured the way we organise our season to give the WoSFL the best possible chance of a season that is competitive, worthwhile and workable.

Premier Division

Phase 1

The teams have been split into two groups using last season’s finishing positions based on the Points Per Game formula that was used to declare League winners in the West Region SJFA.

The 20 teams into two groups of ten. Groundsharing teams are not in the same group, with a view to ensuring no home clashes.

The groups are below…

Group AGroup B
Auchinleck TalbotKilwinning Rangers
Glenafton AthleticPollok
Irvine Meadow XIBeith Juniors
Kilbirnie LadesideHurlford United
ClydebankCumnock Juniors
Largs ThistleRossvale
Kirkintilloch Rob RoyRutherglen Glencairn
Bonnyton ThistleCumbernauld United
Blantyre VictoriaDarvel

Phase 2

A draw will be made to set out the teams to play a further ten games, with each team getting five home games and five away games against the teams that they haven’t played so far.

Promotion and relegation would remain as before with three teams coming up from the Conferences and seven going down from the Premier Division.

The aim would be to complete Phase 1. Teams in both Groups playing 9H & 9A each = 18 games. We then start Phase 2, which is an inter-group campaign of a further ten games (5H & 5A) for each team.

Total games for each team is 28.


Phase 1

The teams are split into groups using last seasons finishing positions based on the Points Per Game formula that was used to declare League winners in the West Region SJFA and also using the ‘Serpentine’ method originally used in positioning the teams into the Conferences.

The sixteen teams are placed into two groups of eight (as shown below). Groundsharing teams have not been placed in the same group, to ensure no home clashes.

Conference A

Group 1Group 2
Shotts Bon AccordArthurlie
Craigmark BurntoniansWhitletts Victoria
Irvine VictoriaLesmahagow
GirvanBellshill Athletic
MaryhillJohnstone Burgh
Forth WanderersMuirkirk Juniors
Maybole JuniorsSaltcoats Victoria
Glasgow UniversityLugar Boswell Thistle

Conference B

Group 1Group 2
RenfrewDalry Thistle
Cambuslang RangersGartcairn
ShettlestonPort Glasgow
Carluke RoversGreenock Juniors
Kello RoversRoyal Albert
Thorniewood UnitedAshfield
Annbank UnitedNewmains United
St Cadoc’sArdeer Thistle

Conference C

Group 1Group 2
NeilstonKilsyth Rangers
PetershillSt. Roch’s
Ardrossan Winton RoversLanark United
Larkhall ThistleGlasgow Perthshire
WishawEast Kilbride Thistle
Yoker AthleticVale of Leven
Vale of ClydeSt. Anthony’s
Drumchapel United

Phase 2

Each team from Group 1 would play each Team from Group 2 once only.

4 Home + 4 Away.
Total Games now = 22
Conference C Group 1 = 20
Conference C Group 2 = 21

Phase 3

Reverse of fixtures from Phase 2
Total Games (Conference A & B) = 30 games
Conference C Group 1 & 2 = 28 Games

Also as notified, we will issue a poll to clubs tomorrow to get their input on important matters relating to the new season, including the start date. We will decide what we plan to do regarding these issues when we have feedback from our clubs.